Microsoft Edge 152 Security Update: 304 New Edge and Chromium CVE Records—What to Do

Microsoft Edge Stable 152.0.4191.53 is documented with 304 new Edge and Chromium CVE records. Here is what the number means, what it does not mean, and how home and business users can verify the browser update.

Reader ratingRate this article

Loading reader rating…

Privacy-conscious voting uses a signed random browser identifier and a short-lived network hash; the rating tables contain no raw IP-address column.

Microsoft has published security documentation for Microsoft Edge Stable 152.0.4191.53, a browser update released August 27 with a large set of newly published Edge and Chromium vulnerability records.[1] Microsoft’s live security notes list seven Edge-specific CVEs, while the August MSRC data carrying an August 28 initial-revision timestamp contains 304 new Edge/Chromium CVE records: 295 Chromium records and nine Microsoft Edge-branded records.[1][2]

Update status at a glance

Security release Target version: Microsoft Edge Stable 152.0.4191.53.[1] The browser update is dated August 27; Microsoft’s detailed CVE publication is dated August 28.[1][2] This is not a new Windows cumulative KB, Patch Tuesday release, out-of-band Windows OS patch, preview update, or Insider build.[1][4]

Reporting cutoff: August 28, 2026 at 7:15 p.m. EDT (23:15 UTC).

Why this deserves attention

Edge is updated on its own browser cadence, so a Windows PC can have the latest August cumulative update and still be waiting for an Edge restart. Microsoft says Edge normally updates automatically when the browser restarts; the About page at edge://settings/help can check the installed version and download an available update.[3]

The number 304 needs careful interpretation. It is the count of new Edge/Chromium CVE records in Microsoft’s August CVRF document carrying an initial revision timestamp of August 28—not a claim that one PC had 304 independently exploitable flaws, that every flaw affects every Edge configuration, or that Microsoft marked 304 attacks as active.[2] Applicability depends on the browser build, platform, enabled features, and the upstream Chromium components included in the release.[2]

Good points

  • Edge normally updates automatically and the installed version is easy to verify.[3]
  • MSRC did not mark any of the nine new Microsoft Edge-branded records as publicly disclosed or exploited in the fields available at the cutoff.[2]
  • Microsoft provides a fixed build, 152.0.4191.53, for the documented desktop Edge vulnerabilities.[1][2]

Cautions

  • Four Edge-branded records are titled remote-code-execution vulnerabilities.[2]
  • The upstream Chromium records do not carry Microsoft exploit-status fields in the CVRF data, so “not exploited” cannot be generalized to all 304 records.[2]
  • A downloaded update may not fully take effect until every Edge window is closed and the browser is relaunched.[3]

The Edge-specific vulnerabilities Microsoft highlighted

Microsoft’s Edge security-release page lists seven Edge-specific CVEs for version 152.0.4191.53.[1] The live MSRC feed also published two additional Edge-branded records the same morning—CVE-2026-70309 and CVE-2026-70331, whose title names Edge for iOS—which are not in that seven-item release-note list at the cutoff.[2]

CVEMSRC title / impactMSRC severity or statePractical reading
CVE-2026-58616Copilot Chat information disclosureModerate; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Update Edge; do not infer that every Copilot conversation was exposed.
CVE-2026-62904Edge information disclosureModerate; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Keep the browser current and avoid unsupported workarounds.
CVE-2026-66323Remote code executionImportant; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]RCE describes possible impact, not proof of active exploitation.
CVE-2026-66324SpoofingImportant; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Continue to verify suspicious pages and prompts even after updating.
CVE-2026-66798Remote code executionImportant; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Prioritize browser restarts on shared and business devices.
CVE-2026-70341Remote code executionMSRC exploit status says not public/not exploited; the record’s product-remediation fields were incomplete in the downloaded CVRF snapshot[2]Treat the Edge release-note association as authoritative, but do not invent missing technical details.
CVE-2026-72984Remote code executionImportant; not publicly disclosed or exploited; Microsoft rates exploitation “more likely”[2]“More likely” is an exploitability assessment, not evidence of attacks in the wild.
CVE-2026-70309Security-feature bypassModerate; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Same-day Edge record in MSRC, but not in the seven-item Edge release-note list at cutoff.
CVE-2026-70331Microsoft Edge for iOS spoofingModerate; not publicly disclosed or exploited[2]Although the title names Edge for iOS, the CVRF maps affected status and fixed build 150.0.4078.50 to both Microsoft Edge (Chromium-based) and Microsoft Edge for iOS; do not describe it as iOS-only.

What remains unknown

Microsoft’s CVRF feed provides exploit-status fields for the Microsoft Edge-branded records, but the 295 republished Chromium records in this batch do not include equivalent Microsoft exploit-status fields.[2] We therefore cannot responsibly say that the entire Chromium set is unexploited. Microsoft’s Edge page says version 152.0.4191.53 incorporates the latest Chromium security updates; it does not provide a one-line affected/not-affected map for every upstream record.[1][2]

Who is affected—and who is not

SituationStatusAction
Microsoft Edge Stable below 152.0.4191.53Needs review/updateOpen edge://settings/help, allow the update to finish, then relaunch Edge.[1][3]
Microsoft Edge Stable 152.0.4191.53 or laterCurrent for this releaseConfirm the browser completed its restart and continue normal automatic updating.[1][3]
Managed business devicesDeployment-dependentCheck the managed Edge version, rollout rings, restart compliance, and any policy that defers browser updates.
Edge on macOSBrowser update; not a macOS OS releaseVerify Edge’s own version. Apple did not issue a same-day macOS security/system release by the cutoff.[5][6]
Safari-only Mac usersNot affected by this Edge releaseContinue normal Apple updates; the newest Apple Mac security entries remain Safari 26.6.1 on August 18 and macOS Tahoe 26.6.2 on August 17.[5]
Windows itselfNo August 28 Windows OS release announcement in Microsoft’s Message Center at the cutoffKeep the August Windows cumulative update installed, but do not confuse it with this separate Edge browser update.[4]

What home users should do

  1. Check the version. In Edge, choose Settings and more → Help and feedback → About Microsoft Edge, or enter edge://settings/help.[3]
  2. Let the update finish. If Edge offers version 152.0.4191.53 or later, allow it to download.[1][3]
  3. Relaunch the browser. Save work in web apps first. A relaunch closes active Edge tabs and windows.[3]
  4. Verify again. Return to the About page and confirm 152.0.4191.53 or a later version.
  5. Do not install “Edge patches” from pop-ups. Use Edge’s built-in updater or Microsoft’s official download page.

What businesses should do

  1. Inventory actual versions. Report the full four-part Edge version—not only “Edge 152.”
  2. Separate download from restart compliance. A device can have update files present while users keep an older browser process open.
  3. Pilot critical web workflows. Test Microsoft 365, line-of-business portals, browser extensions, printing, downloads, authentication, and any kiosk or WebView2-dependent workflow.
  4. Use normal deployment controls. Preserve existing policy, ring, and rollback practices; do not disable browser security features to avoid an application-compatibility problem.
  5. Track exceptions. Assign an owner and deadline to devices that cannot reach the target version.
  6. Verify both Windows and Mac fleets. Edge’s browser version is a separate measurement from the Windows build or macOS version.

Good and bad operational trade-offs

The good: Edge browser updates are delivered separately from operating-system upgrades, automatic updating is built in, and a four-part version provides a concrete verification target. The bad: frequent browser releases can outpace restart habits, managed deferrals can leave mixed versions in one organization, and a very large CVE ledger can tempt readers to turn a record count into an exaggerated threat claim.

Windows and Apple check for August 28

Microsoft’s Windows Message Center had no August 28 announcement at the cutoff.[4] Its newest August 27 entries included the August Windows 11 non-security preview update and WMIC-removal guidance; the next-generation code-signing guidance was dated August 21.[4] Microsoft’s Windows Message Center identifies the August 11 security update as the month’s current broad Windows security baseline.[4] For the KB/build details, see our complete August 2026 Patch Tuesday guide.

Apple’s security-release table had no August 28 macOS entry.[5] The newest Mac-related security releases were Safari 26.6.1 on August 18 and macOS Tahoe 26.6.2 on August 17.[5] Apple’s developer page listed macOS 27 beta 7 on August 24, which remains a beta.[6] Apple’s Background Security Improvements page still showed the March 17 WebKit release as its latest dated entry.[6]

Frequently asked questions

Is this Patch Tuesday?

No. Edge 152.0.4191.53 is a browser security update on Edge’s own cadence.[1] The current August Windows Patch Tuesday release remains the August 11 B update.[4]

Does 304 mean Microsoft fixed 304 actively exploited zero-days?

No. It means Microsoft’s August CVRF document added 304 new Edge/Chromium CVE records with an August 28 initial revision.[2] The record count is not an active-attack count and is not a one-PC exposure count.

Were any of the Microsoft Edge-specific records marked exploited?

No Edge-branded record with an MSRC exploit-status field was marked exploited or publicly disclosed at the cutoff. That statement does not extend to the 295 Chromium records, which lacked Microsoft exploit-status fields in the CVRF snapshot.[2]

Why does Microsoft say August 27 while the CVEs say August 28?

The Edge Stable update is dated August 27.[1] Microsoft’s August CVRF document shows a 07:00 timestamp on August 28; the frozen source does not specify the timestamp’s timezone.[2] Those are two evidence layers: release availability and later security-document publication.

Do Mac users need this?

Mac users who run Microsoft Edge should verify Edge’s browser version.[1] This does not mean Apple released a new macOS update today, and Safari-only users are not affected by an Edge-specific release.[5]

What if Edge reports 152.0.4191.52?

Microsoft’s live security notes and CVRF remediation fields showed 152.0.4191.53 at the cutoff.[1][2] Let the About page check again, restart Edge, and verify the full version. If a managed device remains behind, contact the organization’s IT administrator rather than bypassing policy.

Official sources

Original hero illustration by The IT Guys. It represents a browser security update and cross-platform verification; it is not a screenshot of a real warning or attack.