5 PM Technology News Recap: Windows Zero-Days, AI Distillation, Zelda, Samsung, and Forza (September 8, 2026)

Microsoft patches two exploited Windows flaws, U.S. agencies allege industrial-scale AI model distillation, Nintendo dates Ocarina of Time, Samsung fixes critical image decoders, and Forza Horizon 6 is reportedly delayed on PlayStation 5.

Reader ratingRate this article

Loading reader rating…

Privacy-conscious voting uses a signed random browser identifier and a short-lived network hash; the rating tables contain no raw IP-address column.

Tuesday’s 5 PM technology recap brings five developments with immediate practical consequences: Microsoft shipped a record-scale Windows security release with two exploited privilege-escalation flaws, U.S. agencies accused six China-based AI companies of industrial-scale model distillation, Nintendo dated its rebuilt Ocarina of Time for Switch 2, Samsung detailed two critical image-decoder flaws, and reporting says the PlayStation 5 version of Forza Horizon 6 has slipped into early 2027.[1][5][6][8][2]

Reporting cutoff: September 8, 2026, 5:01:23 p.m. EDT (21:01:23 UTC). The core window begins at Monday’s verified 5:04:45 p.m. EDT cutoff. All five selections were published or announced inside that window. The CISA advisory’s allegations remain U.S. government assessments; the Forza timing remains source-based reporting rather than a Microsoft announcement.[4][5][2]

Listen to the broadcast-ready recap

This KittenTTS Bella narration was synthesized locally from the same checked facts as the article.

1. Microsoft’s September security release brings two exploited Windows flaws

Microsoft’s September Security Update Guide marks two Windows elevation-of-privilege vulnerabilities as exploited: CVE-2026-81963 in the Windows Update Stack and CVE-2026-85880 in Windows Advanced Local Procedure Call.[1] Microsoft says successful exploitation can provide SYSTEM privileges; its public data does not disclose victim count, campaign scope, or the attackers’ initial-access method.

The Verge reported more than 650 Windows fixes, while Microsoft’s broader machine-readable September release contains many more entries across products.[2] Those figures use different scopes, so this recap does not present one universal vulnerability total. Lansweeper separately highlighted CVE-2026-69730, a Windows DNS Server remote-code-execution flaw rated CVSS 9.8 that Microsoft assessed as exploitation more likely but not yet detected.[3]

For Windows 11 versions 24H2 and 25H2, Microsoft’s KB5124008 advances the operating-system builds to 26100.9445 and 26200.9445.[9] Microsoft also says Home and Pro editions of Windows 11 24H2 reach end of updates on October 13, 2026; Enterprise and Education have a later lifecycle.[9]

How we know—and what remains unknown: the exploited labels, CVE identities, affected products, and builds come from Microsoft. The record-size framing and the claim that AI-assisted discovery drove part of the volume rely on The Verge’s reporting and unnamed sources, not a published Microsoft measurement.

Practical action: inventory exposed DNS servers and Windows endpoints, test the September updates against critical line-of-business software, deploy first to a small ring, verify successful installation and new build numbers, and keep rollback plus backups ready. Patching privilege escalation does not replace phishing, application-control, and credential-theft defenses because an attacker still needs an initial foothold.

Good: hundreds of defects were removed before attackers could exploit most of them.
Caution: two Windows flaws already have exploitation detected, and the patch volume increases testing pressure.

2. U.S. agencies allege industrial-scale AI model distillation

CISA, the NSA, and the FBI issued joint advisory AA26-251A on September 8 alleging that six China-based companies—DeepSeek, Moonshot AI, Alibaba, MiniMax, StepFun, and Z.AI—systematically extracted capabilities from U.S. frontier AI models since at least late 2024.[4][5]

According to the agencies, the activity used billions of tokens across millions of requests involving Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, and Grok model families.[4][5] The advisory describes distributed accounts, native APIs, cloud providers, third-party aggregators, proxies, and gray-market transfer services as ways to obscure request origin and evade geographic or service restrictions.

Claim boundary: the named conduct, scale, and connection to China’s industrial policy are U.S. government allegations and assessments. CyberScoop independently reported what the advisory says but did not independently prove each company’s actions, and the checked report did not include responses from the named companies. Model distillation also has legitimate research and commercial uses; the alleged abuse depends on scale, evasion, targeting, and authorization.

Practical action: AI-platform operators should detect coordinated usage across accounts, sudden high-volume extraction patterns, repeated capability probes, proxy infrastructure, and shared payment or device signals. Ordinary businesses should control API keys, cap spend, rotate exposed credentials, alert on usage anomalies, and retain audit logs. Do not block every bulk research workload simply because it resembles distillation; investigate context and authorization.

Good: the advisory gives defenders concrete behavioral patterns and calls for provider information-sharing.
Caution: overly broad enforcement could punish legitimate researchers or customers, while sophisticated operators may distribute activity across providers.

3. Ocarina of Time returns on Switch 2 on November 5

Nintendo announced that The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for Nintendo Switch 2 launches November 5, 2026.[6] Nintendo’s official presentation described completely rebuilt visuals, a freely movable camera, button-controlled jumping and dashing, refreshed sound, and fully voiced in-game cutscenes.

The remake adds a Threads of Time objective tracker and connects to ZELDA NOTES in the Nintendo Switch mobile app. Nintendo says the app can automatically capture play-session screenshots, show daily records, guide location-based Gossip Quests, provide an ocarina tool, and offer more than 2,000 quiz questions.[6]

Nintendo also announced a Zelda 40th Anniversary Edition Switch 2, matching controller, carrying case, and new amiibo figures. The Verge reported that the hardware and accessories arrive October 29, one week before the game.[7]

What remains unknown: the checked official pages did not establish pricing, final performance, storage requirements, or the exact retail bundles. A polished demonstration is not an independent review of the finished game.

Practical action: interested buyers should wait for official pricing and preorder details, confirm whether accessories are included or separate, check storage and account requirements, and avoid marketplace listings that claim guaranteed inventory before Nintendo publishes sales terms.

Good: the launch date and gameplay changes are now concrete rather than rumor.
Caution: price, real-world performance, and availability remain untested.

4. Samsung fixes two critical image-decoder vulnerabilities

Samsung’s September 2026 Security Maintenance Release includes 58 Google Android fixes, one Samsung Semiconductor fix, and 31 Samsung Mobile vulnerabilities and exposures.[8][10] SamMobile describes that as 90 fixes, while Samsung’s bulletin separately notes that 40 Google bulletin issues do not apply to Samsung devices and one was already included earlier.

The two critical Samsung-specific vulnerabilities are CVE-2026-21095 in a DNG decoder and CVE-2026-21096 in a JPEG decoder. Samsung says both affect Android 14 through Android 17 and can allow remote attackers to execute arbitrary code before the September 2026 Release 1 patch.[8]

Evidence boundary: Samsung labels both issues privately disclosed and does not state that either was exploited in the wild. Bulletin publication does not mean every eligible Galaxy device can download the update immediately; delivery varies by model, carrier, and region.

Practical action: Galaxy owners should check Settings → Security and privacy → Updates, install the September security update when offered, then verify the security patch level. Until patched, treat unexpected image files from untrusted sources cautiously and keep messaging and browser apps current.

Good: Samsung documents the affected Android generations and the decoder fixes clearly.
Caution: phased rollout can leave some devices waiting even after the bulletin is public.

5. Forza Horizon 6 on PlayStation 5 is reportedly moving to early 2027

The Verge reported on September 8, citing sources familiar with Playground Games’ plans, that the PlayStation 5 release of Forza Horizon 6 is moving from the previously announced 2026 window into early 2027.[2] The report says the timing is intended to line up more closely with the game’s first expansion.

The game launched on Xbox and PC on May 15, according to the same report.[2] Microsoft had not published a new PlayStation release date in the checked evidence, so “early 2027” should be treated as sourced reporting rather than a firm official appointment.

Uncertainty: no exact day, price, edition details, or expansion date was confirmed in the checked source. Release plans can change again before Microsoft announces them.

Practical action: PlayStation players should avoid buying accessories, subscriptions, or reseller promises solely for an unconfirmed date. Wishlist the official listing when available, follow Xbox or Forza channels for the written release date, and compare editions only after contents and cross-save rules are published.

Good: coordinating with an expansion could give PlayStation buyers a more complete launch package.
Caution: the delay is not yet backed by a public Microsoft date, and early 2027 remains a broad window.

What to do next

  1. Windows administrators: test and deploy September updates, prioritizing exposed servers and privileged endpoints.
  2. AI platform owners: alert on coordinated high-volume extraction and protect API credentials.
  3. Galaxy owners: install the September security release when it reaches your model.
  4. Nintendo buyers: wait for official pricing, bundles, and preorder terms.
  5. PlayStation racers: treat early 2027 as reported—not guaranteed—until Microsoft posts a date.

Need help securing or improving your technology? Schedule The IT Guys

Frequently asked questions

Are the two Microsoft flaws being exploited?

Yes. Microsoft marks CVE-2026-81963 and CVE-2026-85880 as exploitation detected, but it has not publicly described the victim count or campaign.[1]

Did the U.S. government prove that every named AI company acted illegally?

No. The advisory makes government allegations and assessments. The checked independent report confirms the advisory’s contents, not every underlying act.

Is the Zelda remake coming to the original Switch?

The announcement covered Nintendo Switch 2. This recap found no confirmed original-Switch version in the checked official presentation.[6]

Are Samsung’s decoder flaws known to be exploited?

Samsung labels them privately disclosed and did not report in-the-wild exploitation in the bulletin.[8]

Is Forza Horizon 6 definitely launching on PS5 in early 2027?

No. The timing is reported by The Verge from unnamed sources; Microsoft had not supplied an exact new date in the evidence checked for this edition.[2]

Sources checked for this edition

  1. Microsoft Security Response Center — September 2026 CVRF release.
  2. The Verge — “Microsoft breaks another patch Tuesday record” — September 8, 2026, 2:00 p.m. UTC.
  3. Lansweeper — “Microsoft Patch Tuesday – September 2026” — September 8, 2026, 19:55:49 UTC+02:00.
  4. CISA, NSA and FBI — Joint Cybersecurity Advisory AA26-251A — September 8, 2026; direct automated retrieval was blocked in the final fetch.
  5. CyberScoop — “Feds accuse China of ‘systematic’ distillation of U.S. AI models” — September 8, 2026.
  6. Nintendo — The Legend of Zelda 40th Anniversary Direct official transcript — September 8, 2026.
  7. The Verge — “The Legend of Zelda 40th Anniversary Direct” live coverage — September 8, 2026.
  8. Samsung Mobile Security — SMR-SEP-2026 — September 8, 2026.
  9. Microsoft Support — KB5124008 — September 8, 2026.
  10. SamMobile — “Samsung monthly updates: September 2026 security patch gets detailed” — September 8, 2026, updated 10:35 UTC+02:00.

Source state checked through September 8, 2026, 5:01:23 p.m. EDT / 21:01:23 UTC. CISA’s canonical page blocked the final direct fetch; its narrow claims are attributed to the advisory and checked against CyberScoop’s accessible report.